Car seat laws in Oklahoma got a lot of attention toward the end of 2015 thanks to a new law that was passed. With all the buzz swirling around car seats, we thought we would lay out the facts so everyone is on the same page. Here’s what you need to know about car seats in Oklahoma.
- If your child is under 2-years-old they must be in a rear-facing car seat.
- Kids four and under have to be in a car seat that has an internal harness.
- Children that are between four and eight have to ride in a child passenger restraint system like a booster seat. This rule doesn’t apply if the child is taller than 4’9”.
- Seat belts are designed for people who are around 4’9”, so if your child is under 4’9” wearing a seat belt will not work properly.
Regardless of what kind of car seat your kid is required to have, all car seats need to be installed correctly. If you ever have any questions about how to install your car seat, your best bet is to look at the instruction manuals for your car and the car seat.
This might seem like a lot, but studies show that car seats and booster seats reduce the chance of death in a car wreck by 71% for infants under 1 year and 54% for toddlers aged 1-4 years. With numbers like that, I think we can all agree car seats and booster seats are well worth it.